Skip to content

Vegan Biji-jigae (Okara stew) Recipe

March 26, 2011

Biji-jigae

I hope everyone is having a great Saturday morning! We worked on our garden some last week and this week, and we can’t wait for the weather to get warmer so we can take pictures of our garden and share them with you!

Anyhoo, I want to talk about biji today! We’ve previously blogged about making homemade soy milk – we really think the soy milk maker was one of our very best purchases in 2010. We highly recommend getting one if you drink soy milk (or almond, rice, oat milk). We love using organic soy beans with no additives. And occasionally we’ll throw in some nuts, rice or oats to make it interesting! ;)

Another thing that we love about making our own soy milk is that we get leftover biji (okara) from making soy milk. Biji actually has more fiber, protein and calcium than soy milk or tofu. You can use biji for all sorts of different purposes, such as baking and cooking, but we use it mainly for making scrambled biji for breakfast, or biji-jigae, a Korean stew dish.

Koreans love biji and biji-jigae is a very popular country/mountain style dish. It’s a modest and simple dish, but it tastes great with tons of nutrition, and it’s the easiest dish to make, ever. If you go to a restaurant that serves country style or mountain style cuisine in Korea, they will be serving it as a part of your meal for sure. So if you do make your own soy milk, try this vegan biji-jigae out. It’s super easy and yummy! ;)

Vegan Biji-jigae (Okara stew) Recipe (Serves 2)

Ingredients:
1 cup biji
1 cup raw cabbage or napa cabbage
1 cup kimchi
1 1/2 tsp aged soy sauce (aged is much better, but you can use regular soy sauce if you don’t have it handy)
1 tsp vegetarian “oyster” sauce (optional)
1 tsp kelp powder
1 Tbsp gochugaru (Korean red pepper powder)
1/2 tsp – 1 tsp salt (to taste)
1 clove minced or sliced garlic
1 green chili pepper, seeds removed, minced or sliced
1-2 sprinkle of sesame seeds or flax seeds

Directions:
1. Add all the ingredients into a small pot, and add water to barely cover biji.
2. Bring to boil and simmer for at least 15 minutes.
3. Sprinkle some sesame seeds or flax seeds over.
4. Serve with rice and banchan!

Biji-jigae

Add biji, napa cabbage and water to cover.

Biji-jigae

Add kimchi, aged soy sauce, vegetarian oyster sauce, garlic, gochugaru, chili pepper, kelp powder and a sprinkle of salt. Bring to boil and simmer for at least 15 minutes. Taste and see if you need more salt!

Biji-jigae

And there you go, it’s the easiest dish in the world! :P

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2011 6:24 pm

    Fantastic, this is definitely one of my favourite Korean stews so I’m bookmarking this for future use! I would love to see a recipe for the scrambled biji you mentioned, this is the first time I’m hearing of it and I sure am liking the sound of that. :)

    • Sunnie permalink*
      March 26, 2011 9:40 pm

      Hi, Julia! It’s awesome that you know about biji stew already. I’m glad you like it. As for scrambled biji, I will put Bill on the task! ;) He makes it along with some biscuits and vegan sausage or bacon – and it’s yummy!

  2. March 28, 2011 12:28 pm

    How funny–wish I had seen this earlier. I defrosted the biji I had from my sole experiment in soymilk-making and wasn’t sure what to do with it. So I threw it into some brown rice and leftover Thai veggies and added more hot sauce. I’m having it for lunch soon; I hope it turns out okay. :) I still have plenty of biji, though, so I’ll give this a try, too! I just made kimchi yesterday, which I can use in the jjigae. No leftover cabbage, so I’ll have to leave that out this time. :)

    • Sunnie permalink*
      March 28, 2011 7:31 pm

      That sounds great, Lu! I hope you enjoy the jjigae, and you don’t need the cabbage if you have plenty of kimchi. I hope your kimchi turned out well! Enjoy!!! :)

  3. April 7, 2011 6:27 am

    Fascinating, I’ve never heard of biji. We also have a soymilk maker and more resulting biji than I know what to do with. Thanks for this recipe, I’ll try it out.
    Out of curiousity, what is a biji breakfast scramble?

    • Sunnie permalink*
      April 7, 2011 8:38 am

      Hi, Katharine! Hope all is well!!! Biji scramble is basically similar to a tofu scramble. We will be making biji breakfast scramble tomorrow and will be sharing the recipe with pictures very soon, so check back in a couple of days! :)

  4. Corrin Radd permalink
    August 23, 2012 6:53 pm

    I made this, too. Nice way to use okara.

Trackbacks

  1. Sanchae – Healthy and Yummy Mountain Food! « The Vegan 8 Korean

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,512 other followers

