Skip to content

Vegan Nokdu-jon (Mungbean pancake) Recipe

November 30, 2010

I visit Seoul (my home town) every year, since my parents, younger brother and friends are all over there. But not being able to see them for a year is very hard – I miss them so much! When I miss them, I often just start cooking food that I used to have with them. When I was there last time, Bill and I went to one of our favorite restaurants with my parents, they serve really yummy nokdu-jons (mungbean pancakes). They normally have pork in it, but we just ask them to leave it out to keep it vegan. Bill and Dad had to have a bottle of soju with the pancakes.🙂

Mungbean Pancake

So, Nokdu means green-colored mungbeans. Koreans consider Nokdu-jon as classy banchan or great drinking food. Korean onion pancakes are famous too, but I have to say these mungbean pancakes really win the competition. All my American friends always really like Korean pancakes, and they are just so easy to make!

I like to cook it with some wheat flour, but some people make it with mungbean powder only. You can experiment with having more mungbean powder. It tends to make the pancake more grainy, and some people like that. You can get the mungbean powder (aka Bindaetteok) at any Korean grocery store!

IMG_1192

5221688686_39638d4ec6_b

Nokdu-jon (Mungbean pancake) Recipe (Serves 4)

Ingredients:
3/4 cup Mungbean powder
1/4 cup White Whole Wheat Flour
3/4 – 1 cup water (I tend to like it a bit runnier, so I put a cup. It makes it crispier)
1-3 green onion (sliced)
1/2 cup of kimchi (or other veggies like squash or oyster mushrooms)
2 Tbs vegetable oil

Sauce ingredients (optional):
1 Tbs soy sauce
Pinch of Korean pepper powder
Pinch of sesame seeds
Drizzle of apple cider vinegar
Sliced green onions

Directions:

1. Mix mungbean powder and whole wheat flour with water and mix until you have no lumps.
2. Let it sit for 30-40 minutes (very important!).
3. Add sliced kimchi (or veggies) and sliced green onions.
4. Heat oil on medium heat and pour the mix over so it is not thick (the thinner, the crispier it will be). Any size will do, but we they are definitely yummier when they are smaller.
5. Add some oil as needed. Flip the pancakes when browned and cook till each side is brown and slightly crispy.
6. Enjoy your yummy mungbean pancakes (with some soy sauce dressing if desired). Mmm… yummy!😛

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2010 5:26 pm

    Mmm….looks great!! ^_^

    • Sunnie permalink*
      December 7, 2010 6:55 pm

      Thanks for visiting Michelle, I hope you make yourself some yummy nokdu-jun!😉

Trackbacks

  1. Vegan Nokdu-jon Korean Mung Bean Pancakes Recipe! « The Vegan 8 Korean

Leave a Reply

