Skip to content

Korean Buddhist Temple Food: Cleansing Mind and Body!

December 29, 2010
Boolkooksa

Bulkooksa, a temple we visited last year in Gyeongju, probably the most famous temple in Korea!

Korean Buddhist temple foods are becoming quite popular. Korean Buddhist temple food is vegan, and restaurants that serve vegan temple food are popping up more and more. In addition, ‘Traditional Korean Buddhist Temple Foods Day’ was held in New York last September, so the word is getting out!

Agrafood interviewed a Buddhist priest Sunjae, a veritable guru of Korean Buddhist temple foods. Read the interview with her!

http://www.agrafood.co.kr/contents/contents.asp?seq=2090&category_code=70

A Buddhist Stupa in Boolkooksa

A beautiful Buddhist stupa in Boolkooksa!

We’ll be going to a temple food restaurant when we return to Seoul this summer and will be sure to share pictures!

Here is a 2-part Arirang broadcast about the increasing popularity of temple food in Korea that shows a lot of different dishes:

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Jayanti permalink
    June 2, 2011 8:47 pm

    I watched the program called “Screening Humanity” where they showed Buddhist Guruji(Master/Teacher) Ms Daehan cooking & teaching her lovely temple vegan food. I have been watching Korean dramas for the past 10 yrs. The English subtitles helps a lot for non-Korean language speaking people like myself to appreciate the natural & gifted talent of the Korean actors in the dramas & movies. I have stopped watching my native Hindi dramas but yes I do still watch Bollywood movies.

    I think if animals are treated with compassion & love then the teaching of non-violence towards all beings on this planet earth will be fructified.

    Sincerely,
    Jayanti

    • Sunnie permalink*
      June 5, 2011 2:12 am

      Hi Jayanti!
      Yes, I agree – wouldn’t it be so wonderful if animals were treated with more respect in this world? I haven’t seen “Screening Humanity” yet; it sounds interesting! It’s so neat that you’ve been watching Korean dramas for so long, what got you interested in k-dramas? 😉

  2. Sally permalink
    January 21, 2012 10:05 pm

    Hello,

    Do you have a recipe for a fiber fast cleanse? I used to live in Chicago and would do a Korean Buddhist fiber fast every year (3 days of eating the fiber porridge and water only). I would like to find a recipe for that fast, if possible. Can you assist?

    • Sunnie permalink*
      January 22, 2012 10:42 am

      Hi, Sally! Unfortunately, I don’t know what the fast would be. There are a variety of types of Korean porridge (black sesame seed, squash, etc.) served to improve your health, but I’m not familiar with any that are labeled as being for fasting. If you have an idea of the main ingredient, I might be able to identify which porridge was being used for this. If you were getting your porridge from a restaurant in Chicago, it was probably Amitabul, so you might check with them to see what it was. Hope you can figure it out!

      • Sally permalink
        January 22, 2012 6:26 pm

        Hi Sunnie,

        Thank you for your reply. I did get the fiber fast from Amitabul, but Chef Bill cannot ship it to me either in porridge or ingredient form. All I know is it was plant-based and nearly paste-like. Bill always said it was made of plants and roots and lots of fiber; we would eat it for 3 days with water and, wow, what a great cleanse. My vision even improved! 🙂

        Any recipe you have for a cleansing porridge would be helpful. Perhaps I could do it for a single day.

        Thank you for your informative website. I will be back often!

        Sally

      • Sunnie permalink*
        January 24, 2012 12:59 pm

        Hi, Sally! Too bad they can’t share the recipe, it would be nice if they could at least tell you what’s in it! That’s not very Amintabul (which means pure energy of original Buddha) of them! Very sad. 😦 I’ve heard of porridge Koreans eat that have rice, radish and pumpkin in it, but that’s really all I’ve heard of. Sorry I can’t be of more help! Hope you find something..

  3. Sally permalink
    January 24, 2012 1:11 pm

    Hi Sunnie!

    I know! I was pretty disappointed he wouldn’t share the ingredients with me. Oh well … I will make my own and see how it goes. Thanks so much for your insight and input. I’ll let you know if I find something.

    🙂

    Sally

    • Sunnie permalink*
      January 24, 2012 1:15 pm

      Okay… do let us know if you find something, we are very interested!

Trackbacks

  1. Korean Buddhist Temple Food: Cleansing Mind and Body! « The Vegan … | Collection of Asian Food Recipes

Leave a Reply

