Skip to content

Vegan Busut-Dupbap (Mushroom over rice) Recipe

May 6, 2011

Bill and I are getting ready to leave for Seoul soon, so we’ve been busy, occupied with packing and such. When I’m busy, I make a lot of Dupbap, as it is so quick and easy! So this week, we had a lot of Dupbap!

This easy Busut-Dupbap dish makes a very satisfying meal. Dupbap means “over rice” in Korean. I made this dish for Bill once, and ever since, he’s been a big fan. I promise you that you will fall in love with the simple, delicious flavor. 🙂 Serve it with any kind of namul/sengchae dishes (or some kimchi) to make it a more nutritious meal!

Vegan Busut-Dupbap (Mushroom over rice) Recipe

(Serves 2)

Ingredients:
1 pack of button mushrooms ( you can also make it with king oyster, oyster or enoki mushrooms)
vegetable oil
pinch or two of salt
freshly ground black pepper to taste
flax seeds and/or sesame seeds
soy sauce on the side

Directions:

1. Clean and slice the mushrooms.
2. Add some vegetable oil and sliced mushrooms to heated pan and stir fry over medium to medium-high heat (you don’t want to dry the mushrooms out).
3. Add a pinch or two of salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste and cook until browned and soft (taste to see if you need more salt or pepper). It should have some liquid coming out. Don’t throw out the liquid.
4. Add the liquid and mushrooms over brown rice. Sprinkle flax seeds and/or sesame seeds on top – I like to sprinkle a bunch of both for extra calcium and healthy omega-3!
5. Serve with some soy sauce on the side. When eating, add about a little bit of soy sauce and mix the rice and mushrooms well. (I often don’t add any soy sauce, because the flavor is so good even without it!)

Add vegetable oil and sliced mushrooms to heated pan and stir fry. Add salt and freshly ground black pepper and cook until browned and soft (taste to see if you need more salt). It should have some liquid coming out. Don’t throw out the liquid, add it into the dupbap dish! The liquid really helps to flavor the rice.

Sprinkle flax seeds and/or sesame seeds on top. And serve with some soy sauce on the side. Add about a little bit of soy sauce into the dish and mix the rice and mushroom well. (I often don’t add any soy sauce, because the flavor is so good even without it!) Enjoy! 🙂

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    May 6, 2011 5:37 pm

    Looks great and simple for those rushed nights! I am making this tomorrow!

    • Sunnie permalink*
      May 6, 2011 6:39 pm

      Yay! We hope you like it, Julie! 😉 Hope all is well, and that you’re enjoying the spring weather…!

  2. May 9, 2011 11:05 am

    When do you leave for Korea? I’m jealous! 😉 I can’t believe it’s almost two years since I went, and no return trip is on the horizon. I wish I could get a scholarship for summer language study at one of the universities in Seoul, but no such thing seems to exist for people who aren’t full-time students. 😦 If I’m going to pay for tuition and living expenses in Seoul while still paying my mortgage, etc. back home, I’m going to need a scholarship.

    Anyway, that’s off-topic. I just don’t have anything to say about mushrooms that would be positive. Hee.

    • Sunnie permalink*
      May 9, 2011 12:49 pm

      Lu, we’re leaving on Wednesday! Ah, so you’ve been to Seoul- I hope you enjoyed visiting. It really would be wonderful to go study in Seoul with a scholarship, keep looking for opportunities!! Lu, you don’t like mushrooms? I love mushrooms… :p

  3. May 9, 2011 6:24 pm

    No, it’s my big flaw as a vegan. I dislike them very much (texture). I don’t mind the flavor–a mushroom broth is fine, or chopped up really fine would probably be OK, in small enough quantities. On the other hand, I’m thinking of this Dr. McDougall dried cup-a-soup I eat frequently, the Hot and Sour variety. It contains minute slivers of shiitake, and I must—must!—painstakingly remove each one. I can still taste you, shiitake, even at your tiniest size! LOL.

    Oh, have a wonderful time. Yes, I just loved Seoul and the rest of Korea that I saw. (My bus tour went in a loop from Seoul to Cheongju, Haeinsa, Gyeongju, Andong, etc., then we took a plane from Pohang back to Seoul.) What a beautiful and interesting country. Your blog fans will miss you! 😀

    • Sunnie permalink*
      May 9, 2011 8:44 pm

      Haha.. I see. Sorry about that… too bad you don’t like mushrooms, they are so wonderful! :p Thanks for the good wishes, it looks like you had a lot of fun in Korea, we are thinking of visiting Andong this time, we’ll see. We are planning on blogging about our travels while we’re there, so hopefully you won’t miss us… but thanks so much for the wonderful comment, Lu!! 🙂 Have a great May, it’s such a beautiful time of the year for us in the Mid-west!!

  4. May 9, 2011 9:40 pm

    Thanks for the post! I love buhsot dupbap, and this recipe is really approachable!

    • Sunnie permalink*
      May 9, 2011 10:36 pm

      Hi, Callie!
      Thanks for visiting our blog! I just visited your blog too. Very nice, it looks like you love food as much as we do. 🙂 I do hope you like the dupbap, it’s so easy, so we make it when we’re busy! So glad you enjoy Korean food. I’ll follow your blog – keep us posted on your food journey!

  5. Julie permalink
    May 10, 2011 5:51 pm

    Hi Sunnie! I made busut dupbap today and really loved it! Ican see why it is a favorite with Bill. I hope you both have a wonderful time in Korea and have a safe trip there and back. 🙂

    • Sunnie permalink*
      May 10, 2011 6:07 pm

      I am so glad to hear that Julie, thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed it! 🙂 And thanks so much for the good wishes, we’ll try and blog about food in Seoul as well!

Trackbacks

  1. Modum Bausut Bokkeum (Stir Fried Mixed Mushrooms) Recipe! « The Vegan 8 Korean

Leave a Reply

