Skip to content

Young Radish Top Water Kimchi Recipe (Yulmoo Mool Kimchi)

June 10, 2011

Mucheong kimchi

So we are now back in Indianapolis! The flight was easy, but still I have a massive cold and my sinuses are just killing me. Traveling just gets more and more difficult with age, it seems like. ๐Ÿ˜›

So a couple of people asked for my mom’s young radish top water kimchi recipe ย (Yulmoo Mool Kimchi or Moochung Mool Kimchi). I asked her, and she says “there really isn’t a recipe. You just go with the flow!” Which is funny, because that is really how Koreans cook. They really just cook with “Sonmaht – hand taste” like we talked about before.

Anyhoo, I looked up a recipe on Naver’s cooking website, to share. I always find that it’s a pain that they use weight/grams instead of volume/cups to measure the ingredients! But better than no recipe!

Just be aware, this radish top water kimchi is considered a very difficult kimchi to make. Only those who are highly skilled can make it. My mother always used to talk about how difficult water kimchi making was, and how her water kimchi would never taste like her mother’s even if she does exactly what her mother does. My grandmother makes really good water kimchi.

I’m not sure what it is but even though everyone follows the recipe, it seems like it’s very hard to get the right taste. I personally have tried making it once, only to find that it didn’t taste anything like it! I haven’t tried since. Probably should be more courageous and try again sometime. ๐Ÿ™‚

Young Radish Top Water Kimchi Recipe (Yulmoo Mool Kimchi)

Ingredients:
Young small Korean radish (Yulmoo) topsย  700g
Red Korean Peppers 30g
Green Korean Peppers 75g
Green onions 50g
Garlic 20g
Ginger 10g
Flour 5g
Salt 50g
Water 1000ml

Directions:
1. Use young small Korean radish (Yulmoo) tops and cut into 2 inch pieces and leave them in salt water until they wilt.
2. Wash them in cold water twice and strain out the water
3. Dice green and red peppers, garlic, ginger and green onions
4. Add flour to water and boil while stirring so it thickens to a light paste.
5. In a big bowl, add radish tops and diced ingredients. Add salt and mix gently but thoroughly. Put into a glass container.
6. When the flour water paste is cooled off, add some salt to taste and add to the glass container!

You can take a look at the pictures of the process at this link here, even if you can’t read Korean! ๐Ÿ˜‰

http://kitchen.naver.com/food/viewMethod.nhn?foodId=535&foodMtrlTp=DI

Enjoy and let us know if you succeed in making this difficult kimchi dish!!!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2011 12:57 pm

    Yum. I love greens. I probably said this before, but I recently had this for the first time. I’m intimidated by the difficulty of getting the right taste! I gave some kimchi to my Korean teacher recently, and yesterday she returned the container with thanks but without comment on how she liked the kimchi. I am left to draw my own conclusions, LOL. (ใ… .ใ… )

    Welcome back home, by the way! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Sunnie permalink*
      June 15, 2011 1:48 pm

      Thanks Lu! It is so wonderful to be back after the long and tiring trip. Usually we have a very relaxing time in Seoul, but that was not the case this time! Yeah, the water kimchi is kind of difficult to make. I need to work up my confidence before I try again as well. I’m sure your kimchi was good! She must not be a very expressive person! So are you learning Korean right now?

      • June 15, 2011 6:24 pm

        ๋„ค, 5๋…„๋™์•ˆ ํ•œ๊ตญ์–ด๋ฅผ ๋ฐฐ์› ์–ด์š”. ๊ทธ๋Ÿฌ๋‚˜ ์•„์ง๋„ ์ž˜ ํ•œ๊ตญ์–ด ํ• ์ˆ˜์—†์–ด์š”. It’s sad! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve learned a lot, and I’m okay saying things like that, but I freeze up in real conversations. I’m sure it’s a matter of practicing more.

      • Sunnie permalink*
        June 16, 2011 10:43 pm

        Lu, how cool. I am impressed!!!

  2. June 17, 2011 10:39 am

    No! Sunnie! ๐Ÿ™‚ LOL Don’t be impressed. I’m really bad at using Korean. It’s just that you can’t help learning something after 5 years or so, even if it’s just a once-a-week class. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Sunnie permalink*
      June 18, 2011 6:21 am

      Even if you wish your Korean was better, I admire you for sticking with it five years! Very cool. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. June 21, 2012 5:34 pm

    Thanks for the recipe! How long do you leave it in the jar until it is ready?

    • Sunnie permalink*
      June 21, 2012 9:16 pm

      You can start eating right away if you want, but you need to wait 3-4 days for it to have fermented a bit. It still won’t stay yummy too long, so you want to make it in small batches and enjoy it for the next week or two! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Trackbacks

  1. Sanchae – Healthy and Yummy Mountain Food! « The Vegan 8 Korean

Leave a Reply

