Skip to content

Oksoosoo-Cha (Korean Winter Roasted Corn Tea)!

February 6, 2012

I hope you had a nice Superbowl Sunday. Bill made some really yummy vegan nachos, and I was so impressed!

Superbowl Vegan Nachos

Anyway,  I’ve been wanting to do a post on tea this winter. During the last couple of months of winter, I’ve been drinking more tea to keep warm like a good Korean! Oksoosoo-cha is a favorite winter tea for Koreans and is loved due to it’s excellent quality in helping digestion, kidney and urinary problems.

Herbal teas and grain teas are probably Koreans’ favorite kind of beverage. The kind of tea that has the most popularity comes and goes. For a long while it was green tea, converting many of the coffee shops of Seoul into green tea shops that sell traditional green tea, green tea lattes or green tea ice-cream or shakes.

Here are some of the herbal and grain teas that we have at our home!

herbal cha

herbal cha

The best selling beverage in the Korean market last year however was Oksoosoo-sooyum-cha, which is corn tea that also includes the corn silk, surpassing any green tea drinks or carbonated drinks that are also popular. So you can see how popular oksoosoo-tea is among Koreans!

As you can imagine, oksoosoo-cha is made from boiling roasted corn kernels and does not really have a strong flavor. It’s soothing and nice though, especially during the winter.

Oksoosoo-Cha corn kernels

You should be able to find bags of these kernels at just about any Korean grocery store. Just drop a handful in a pot full of water and boil it for 10-15 minutes and then let it sit on the warm heat for an hour or so. You can start drinking the tea after it boils for 10 minutes, but the flavor gets stronger after you have it sit for an hour or so. Perfect for a winter day!

Oksoo soo-cha (roasted corn tea) Recipe

Ingredients:
1/2 – 1 handful of Roasted Corn (use more or less according to how strong you like it)
A small pot full of water

Directions:
1. Add a handful of roasted corn into your pot full of water.
2. Boil for 10-15 minutes until it becomes golden brown. You can start drinking now!
3. Let the pot sit with the lid on for an hour or so. The longer you let it sit on a warm surface, the stronger the flavor will be. Enjoy!🙂

Oksoosoo-Cha

You don’t need to wait for the water to boil before adding the roasted corn kernels. Just drop them in right away and bring to a boil.

Oksoosoo-Cha

You’ll see that water begins to darken as the cha is brewed.

Oksoosoo-Cha

Enjoy your oksoosoo-cha on a cold winter day!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    February 6, 2012 11:30 am

    Hi Sunnie! I love tea and this one sounds so interesting. If I cannot find the roasted corn do you think it would work if I roasted my own corn kernels? I have been stuck all winter between this Russian tea a friend gave me, barley tea and lycee tea. I definately want to give this one a go. By the way, the nachos look yummy🙂 Thanks!

    • Sunnie permalink*
      February 6, 2012 11:52 am

      Julie, that’s a really good question. My initial response would be that it seems like it would be hard to roast them yourself. But you never know, so why not give it a try? I would just make sure find dried corn kernels to roast, and also try not to burn them too much. And maybe it’ll turn out okay! But again, roasted corn kernels shouldn’t be too hard to find in Asian grocery stores, I hope you find some. They are super cheap and so nice and soothing. Ah, you’ve been enjoying tea this winter too.🙂 Barley tea is like the staple tea for meals in Korea as well! Yes, the nachos were very yummy!😉

  2. February 6, 2012 1:56 pm

    Hi! I like your post because not only do I love tea, but I also have kidney and digestion problems (although vegan has made them less severe), so I should try this.
    I have an Asian grocery store near work, so I’ll walk over tomorrow and see if I can find these.
    Thanks Sunnie!

    • Sunnie permalink*
      February 6, 2012 2:25 pm

      Hi Kim!

      Ah, yes. I used to have digestive problems all the time too, and mine are almost completely gone as well!😉 I hope you like the corn tea… It is particularly great during winter! Enjoy!!!

  3. February 6, 2012 1:57 pm

    Oops it should read “*veganism* has made them less severe”…typing problems!😉

  4. February 8, 2012 2:17 am

    pleaseeee keep updating frequently!!!! you are my favorite vegan blog. i had no idea korean cuisine was so vegan friendly…in the states ‘korean restaurants’ are synonymous with ‘BBQ’ but wow i am blown away…i need to make a trip to my favorite korean market ASAP and cook everything on here🙂

    • Sunnie permalink*
      February 8, 2012 8:00 am

      Hello, A!🙂 Thanks for following our blog. Yes, Korean food is very vegan friendly – the BBQ stuff is what is popular here, but if you look at traditional Korean cuisine, it’s mostly focused on macrobiotic vegan dishes! Hope you enjoy making the dishes, let us know how they all turn out!

  5. February 11, 2012 4:10 am

    Did I mention those nachos look delicious? How do you guys make your guacamole? it varies with every household and I am curious. I always add a tiny bit of vegenaise to make it super creamy!!

    • Bill permalink*
      February 11, 2012 11:59 am

      We keep ours pretty simple – just some salt, pepper, and lime juice!🙂 I have tried using some tofutti sour cream before too for creaminess, but we’ll have to try veganaise sometime. Thanks for visiting!

  6. February 12, 2012 8:27 pm

    awesome! as with basically every food, sriracha in guac is divine too. wholly recommended.

  7. February 14, 2016 3:28 pm

    I found a bag of this tea when we visited a Korean grocery. I will buy one and try it out since I really love corns.😉

Trackbacks

  1. The Amazing Gugija-cha (Korean Roasted Goji-berry Tea)! « The Vegan 8 Korean

Leave a Reply

