Skip to content

How they move in Korea

June 12, 2012

Sunnie and I are moving to a new home this week, and we’ve been so busy getting ready!

Thinking about our impending move reminded me of something cool I saw at our apartment complex in Bundang when we were visiting Korea last year. It never really crossed my mind how difficult it must be to move your stuff when you live in a high-rise. But one morning in Bundang, I looked out of the apartment and saw this:

How they move in Bundang

A portable elevated platform to move furniture through the balcony entrance of the apartment – genius!

Bundang Moving Truck

Now, as someone who once moved his monstrously heavy big screen TV upstairs by laying it across his back and crawling up each step on all fours while a friend and his brother tried to hold it up and not drop it, crushing him like a bug, I highly appreciate the ingenuity of using a traveling elevator platform to move everything instead of dealing with 20 flights of stairs!

I didn’t actually get to see the truck pull up, so I wonder how small the elevator tracks can fold down to, but I bet it’s pretty small. Maybe this is just my small town experience shining through, but I thought this was pretty cool! So tell me urbanites, is this common practice in New York, Chicago, LA, and other big cities?

Bundang Moving truck

We’ve got a lot going on this summer, and didn’t even plant our garden this year since we knew we’d be moving, but we did still get broccoli, mustard greens, asparagus, and of course kkaennip from previous years! Our new house unfortunately doesn’t have the room for such a large garden, so we won’t be able to grow quite so much, but if Koreans can grow kkaennip and peppers on their balconies, we can at least do that!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2012 1:41 pm

    Cool! I’ve heard about this from Korean blogs I read. I’ve never heard of this device being employed in Chicago, but I don’t know anyone who lives in a high-rise. Still, I think the service elevator is the way people get stuff up and down in high-rises when they’re moving.

    Are you moving to a different city? Good luck with everything, Sunnie and Bill!🙂

    • Bill permalink*
      June 13, 2012 4:48 pm

      We are moving to a different city – a bit closer to you, actually! Now that you mention it, they do always seem to have service elevators in the US…. Thanks for the good wishes, moving is not one of my favorite things to do!

      • June 14, 2012 11:13 am

        Yes, me, too, it’s terrible. But on the upside, once it’s done, it’s a completely fresh start, household-wise! Nothing like the excitement of the first few weeks once (almost) everything is in place, there is no dust yet lurking in the corners and behind bookcases, and you wake up pleasantly disoriented in the mornings. It kind of feels like playing house in those early days.😀

  2. June 13, 2012 8:19 am

    Good luck with your move. Always stressful, but you sound well prepared!

    • Bill permalink*
      June 13, 2012 4:49 pm

      Thanks, we started packing a month ago but still spent time packing today! We’re definitely ready to be done with it!🙂

  3. June 15, 2012 11:22 pm

    Hi, new reader here. Having lived in both NYC and Chicago, I’ll say that I’ve never seen anything quite like this, but that doesn’t mean they don’t exist. My father lives in a fairly tall building in Chicago and they just have a large service elevator at the rear. Anyway, love your blog, and good luck with your move!

    • Bill permalink*
      June 16, 2012 4:58 pm

      Hi, RB. Thanks for finding the blog! So far it looks like this might be a Korean thing! Thanks for the feedback. We’re currently sitting exhausted in the living room surrounded by boxes, but we’ve made the move and lived to tell about it (and gotten the wireless network set up, so life is good). So glad you like the blog; thanks and take care!

  4. June 21, 2012 2:05 pm

    I have never seen that but I am telling you there is many times I would wish! And I only have done about 3 flights of stairs max in any of my moves.

    • Bill permalink*
      June 21, 2012 9:56 pm

      I hear you, Samantha. One flight of stairs is enough!🙂
      Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

