Skip to content

Ddeok-ko-chi (Spicy Fried Korean Rice Cake Sticks) Recipe

September 19, 2011

Every year I go back to Korea, and I notice the slight changes in street food. Obviously ddeokbokki (spicy stir fried rice cakes) with fried veggies and dumplings are still the ultimate street food. But it’s sad to see that there are more fried meat products now than ever before. It didn’t use to be that way when I was growing up. We had much more veggies and rice products back then.

Ddeok-ko-chi (Spicy fried Korean rice cake sticks) was my favorite street food while growing up. My friends and I would stop by this ahjumma’s (a Korean lady) cart every day to get one. It was the ultimate street food for kids. You can still see that they are served in the small street carts and little tiny shops.

Anyway, I thought I’d share this easy recipe. We don’t eat it often, but Bill and I both love it. I love the spicy and sweet flavor. The chewy and crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside texture of the ddok-ko-chi is delicious!

Bill says it reminds him of tofu hot wings. He sometimes asks me to put hot wing sauce on it instead of the Korean pepper paste sauce, and we love it.

Kids love it as a energy boosting snack as well, so maybe you can make it sometime and try it out!

Ddeok-ko-chi (Spicy Fried Korean Rice Cake Sticks) Recipe

Ingredients
1 pack of long rice cakes
1 Tbs Vegetable Oil

Sauce Ingredients (OR you can just use straight hot wing sauce or barbecue sauce, totally different flavor, but delicious!)
1 Tbsp pepper paste
1 Tbsp Thai sweet Chile sauce (you can get this at the grocery store)
1 tsp sugar (more or less, depending on how sweet you like it)
1/2 tsp diced garlic and green onions (optional, street carts make them without, but I sometimes put them in for a different flavor)
a pinch of black pepper to taste

Directions
1. Add the sauce ingredients together.
2. Wash the rice cakes (the rice cakes should be soft, so if they are frozen, they need to be thawed and should be room temperature so they are soft before you cook them!)
3. Add oil and lightly fry each side of the rice cakes on medium heat so they become golden brown.
4. Place the fried rice cakes on a skewer and brush them with the sauce.

Add the sauce ingredients first!

With a small amount of oil, lightly fry it so it turns golden brown. So it’s a bit crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.

Put them on a skewer like this!

I use a sauce brush to put the sauce on. You can also sprinkle green onions or sesame seeds to make them look pretty. I was in too much of a hurry to eat these to think about that…. 😛

It’s so yummy. Takes me right back to elementary school. Again, you can also just use hot wing sauce or barbecue sauce if you want an American taste!

25 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2011 6:47 pm

    Hmm, I have never heard of this before! Only ddeokbokgi. I wonder, could you explain the names, Sunnie? I’m wondering what “ko-chi” and “bok-gi” might mean. I assume the “bok” has to do with pan-frying, as in bokkeum-bap. 🙂 Anyway, this looks really tasty. 😀

    • Sunnie permalink*
      September 21, 2011 12:52 pm

      Hi, Lu!

      Yes, you are right – ko-chi mean skewer sticks, and bok-gi means pan-fried!

      • September 22, 2011 10:35 am

        Kyoot! I love that there’s a Korean cooking term for things on skewer sticks. 🙂 As far as I can remember my vocabulary, English speakers had to kind of borrow words for that, like shish kebab and satay. I like that there’s a whole category of ko-chi in Korean. Thanks, Sunnie.

  2. Charmayne permalink
    September 21, 2011 9:24 pm

    This was so good! I am in love with Korean food! I also love your blog.

    Charmayne

    • Sunnie permalink*
      September 21, 2011 9:38 pm

      Hi, Charmayne! I am so glad to hear that you tried this out and liked it. Thanks and we are so happy to hear that you are enjoying the blog! 😉

  3. September 27, 2011 9:47 pm

    This looks delicious!

    • Sunnie permalink*
      September 27, 2011 10:00 pm

      Thanks Yuri! 😉

  4. October 11, 2011 12:33 am

    Hi
    I have been making Japanese vegan food… and recently found a recipe for dango… rice balls… similar to these rice sticks, ddeokbokki… you can buy “glutinous rice flour” (er.. ch’amssal?) in a Chinese supermarket… and normal rice flour in most shops…

    mix 1/4 cup of each flour and rub the flours together so that they are well mixed….
    stir in one tablespoon of cold water.. and mix in… then another tablespoon… you should have a good ‘dough’ … divide and roll as necessary…
    boil water until it is on a ‘rolling boil’ … add the rice dough shapes and boil for 4 minutes…
    then dry off.. leave to cool … and then gently fry them up and cover with own sauce…

    it is too easy to run out of rice sticks / balls…. one needs a back up plan! 😉

    • Sunnie permalink*
      October 11, 2011 7:35 am

      Thanks for sharing this rice ball recipe, Oliver! I love dango too. You’re right, it’s probably a good idea to have glutinous rice flour in the pantry so we don’t run out. We’ll get some soon and hopefully share pictures of our rice balls! 🙂

      • October 25, 2011 10:47 pm

        I just discovered a new method whilst searching for mochi ideas:

        Oliver

      • Sunnie permalink*
        October 26, 2011 7:43 am

        This is wonderful, thank you Oliver!

  5. October 25, 2011 7:52 pm

    Sunnie,

    I see these kind of rice cakes in Korean market. I didn’t know what it is for, how to cook it, nor how to eat it! Thanks for this idea and showing it to us. I got to try it next time I go to Korean market.

    • Sunnie permalink*
      October 25, 2011 8:17 pm

      Hi, Debbie!

      It’s so great to hear from you! I hope all is well. I loooove rice cakes. I hope you like them too! 😉 Keep us posted!

  6. November 7, 2011 8:53 pm

    This just went on my to-make list. I’m so excited to have found your blog! I have been making a lot of good but super un-authentic Korean food lately. It’s nice to see recipes that are more traditional and still vegan.

    • Sunnie permalink*
      November 7, 2011 9:15 pm

      Hello, Kim!

      Thanks for finding us. It is so wonderful that you like Korean food! I really hope you like these rice cake sticks. It was one of my very favorite snack foods growing up.

      Thanks for sharing your blog with us as well. Love it! I’m going to have to try your vegan kimchi recipe! 😉

  7. December 4, 2011 5:41 pm

    thank you very much for this recipe and especially the video!!

    xo

    • Sunnie permalink*
      December 4, 2011 9:44 pm

      Hope you try them out Alice!! 🙂

  8. steven doner permalink
    November 26, 2012 12:19 pm

    I am very new to Korean food, I have tried a few of your recipes and my extened family love it… The Dak Galbi and these Ddeok-Ko-Chi are lovely.

    • Sunnie permalink*
      November 26, 2012 7:50 pm

      Great, so glad your family is enjoying Korean food! I hope you’ll give the other recipes a try too!

  9. SthrnNora permalink
    January 13, 2014 5:34 pm

    Just had a food party with this recipe!! I was the only one in attendance and am so glad. Could not imagine sharing!! I had purchased a few packs of Rice Cakes and still had one in the freezer. Found your recipe and could not get them out fast enough. I only did half of the pack and kept the sauce very simple. Pepper paste, chili sauce, chopped onion and garlic. No doubt this will cause some cravings in the future! Gamsahabnida!

    • Sunnie permalink*
      January 15, 2014 7:50 am

      Great, glad you enjoyed it! They are one if our favorite snacks!

Trackbacks

  1. Banchan: We’re Number Six! | ZenKimchi Korean Food Journal
  2. Goodbye, 2012: 10 most viewed posts of the year « The Vegan 8 Korean
  3. Banchan: We're Number Six! | ZenKimchi Korean Food Journal
  4. Banchan: We're Number Six! | ZenKimchi

Leave a comment