Skip to content

Vegan Kimchi Jigae (Stew) Recipe

November 18, 2010

Trust me, you’re gonna love this…Kenny’s mom dropped off a big pot of kimchi jigae!

Sorry, I couldn’t resist. I love that scene! Seriously, what says Korean home cookin’ more than kimchi jigae? It’s incredibly easy to make and so yummy especially when it’s cold outside.

Vegan Kimchi Jigae Recipe (serves 1-2)

Ingredients:
1 Tbs of vegetable oil
1 cup of vegan kimchi
1 cup of water
1 tsp of pepper powder (more or less per your preference)
1/8 tsp kelp powder
1 tsp sesame seeds
some tofu cubes/slices (optional)

Directions:

  1. Heat the oil and stir fry the kimchi over medium heat, till cooked through (usually around 7-10 minutes – the more bitter the kimchi is, the less time you will need to cook).
  2. Add the water (to cover the kimchi, but not too much) and bring to a brisk boil.
  3. Turn down the heat to medium, add the kelp powder and pepper powder and boil until the broth thickens (usually around 10 minutes). Don’t forget that you can also add some tofu slices/cubes at the end if you want some protein in there.
  4. Add the sesame seeds and serve with rice.

IMG_1000

Keep in mind that the bitterness of old kimchi can be quite a plus when making kimchi jigae.

IMG_1005

Almost there….

IMG_1011

Disco!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Amber permalink
    December 5, 2011 8:35 pm

    No way! This is way too good to be this easy!!!!! Too many “!”, sorry. I added dried seaweed and put this over brown rice and barley. Oh, man. This is almost as good as my friend’s oma’s. Her Kimchi Jigae obviously wasn’t vegan, but this really takes me back to the old days. Thanks!

    • Sunnie permalink*
      December 5, 2011 9:17 pm

      Hi Amber!

      We are sooo glad to hear that you liked it! I really cannot live without kimchi jigae… So I make it fairly often, hope you enjoy it often too! 😉

  2. Stephanie permalink
    January 10, 2012 12:48 pm

    Hi again! How do you describe vegan kelp powder to a Korean market person? Usually the kelp stuff I’ve seen has fish products in it… what kind of 김가루 is it? Thanks!!

    • Sunnie permalink*
      January 10, 2012 1:43 pm

      Stephanie-!
      I’d say you need ask for powdered Kombu or kelp. Probably call it 다시다 가루. You might be able to try blending sheets of Kombu or kelp yourself. We get our organic kelp powder at Whole foods! They keep them in the bulk spices area in jars. Let us know if you have any other questions!

  3. Dana permalink
    September 12, 2013 3:28 pm

    I made this for lunch today. Amazing. First time I’ve had it without pork or beef – and I used veggie broth instead of water. Definite yum!

    • Bill permalink*
      September 13, 2013 8:02 pm

      Awesome, thanks for letting us know, Dana. Are you a new vegan or just experimenting?

  4. Risa permalink
    October 18, 2013 5:11 pm

    Loved this recipe -so simple and so delicious! Added zucchini, thin sliced carrots and used veggie broth. Thanks!

    • Bill permalink*
      October 19, 2013 9:44 am

      Glad you liked it!
      Yes, veggie broth is a good addition if you have any handy!

  5. Kyle permalink
    November 13, 2013 9:56 pm

    I am trying this out right now! It looks and smells awesome, I can hardly wait for my rice cooker to finish doing its thing so I can try it.

    Love Korean food, but always have to look out for the fishies.I’m so glad to find a site that has vegan Korean recipes.

    • Bill permalink*
      November 14, 2013 12:33 pm

      Awesome, hope you enjoyed it. You do have to look out for the fishies (poor fishies)!

  6. nereyda permalink
    December 23, 2013 12:21 pm

    I guys, thank you so much for taking the time to post all this awesome recipes. My family loves korean food, about a year ago we stared making our own kimchi (my husband jokes about me being a Mexican who don’t make salsa but makes kimchi) , and after looking high and low I found a Kimchi jjigae recipe that did not call for meat, I have added my own touch and its probably my husband and I favorite jigae, I look forward to my kimchi getting nice and sour just for this. sssoooo happy to find vegan recipes for our favorite foods. thank you,and can’t wait to try all your recipes (mandu,mandu it is so my next try)

    • Bill permalink*
      December 23, 2013 3:43 pm

      Thanks Nereyda! Hope you enjoy all the recipes and kudos on making your own kimchi!

  7. July 9, 2014 5:32 pm

    Kamsahamnida! Making it now 🙂

    • Bill permalink*
      July 9, 2014 7:34 pm

      Awesome! Hope it turns out well for you!

Trackbacks

  1. Kimchi Jjigae « 365 Days of Food
  2. The Best Tofu Recipes for a Flavorful Meatless Monday - Organic Authority
  3. SATURDAY – Kat Loves Kale

Leave a comment